Criminal Defense Attorneys        909-913-3138

      24hrs - 7days  Free Consultations   DUI Crimes              Se Habla Español
 
 

Sex Offender Registration Law Explained

California Penal Code section 290 (Megan's Law)

California Sex Offender Registration Laws are found at California Penal Code Section 290 (For application to be removed from the sex offender registration requirements please see below). The requirement to register as a sex offender is sometimes referred to as Megan's Law.

PC 290 requires mandatory sex offender registration for defendants convicted of the sex offenses listed in Penal Code 290(c). Those crimes include sexual battery, child molestation (lewd acts), rape, child pornography, pandering, pimping, indecent exposure, sexual assault, sodomy, oral copulation, sexual penetration by force, sexual annoyance of minors, and lewd acts in public.

There are more than hundred criminal charges that may require sex offender registration under PC 290. Most registrable crimes are categorized as felonies but there are a few misdemeanor sex crimes that are registrable offenses under PC 290.

What does is mean to register as a sex offender in CA?

Registration requirements under PC 290 are lifetime requirements (see below for exceptions to the lifetime rule). In addition to lifetime registration as a sex offender the defendant's information is made available to the public on the internet.

What kind of information about a defendant is disclosed on the Internet upon registering as a sex offender (PC 290)?

The Department of Justice (DOJ) requires different categories of registered sex offenders to disclose certain information on the DOJ's website. Some convictions of sex offenses require more disclosure than others. Information that may be disclosed includes name, photograph, physical description including gender and race, date of birth, criminal history, and ZIP Code or home address.

Information about registered sex offenders in the “undisclosed category” may not be disclosed on the Department of Justice website. These offenders must still register with local law enforcement agencies, however their information is not public.

How does a defendant register as a sex offender in CA?

A defendant must appear in person to register with the police department of the city in which he/she resides. Registration must be completed within five working days after release from custody or on probation. A person also has five working days to complete sex offender registration if he or she changes his residence. The defendant's criminal defense attorney may assist in the registration process.

If a defendant is currently homeless, he or she must still register as a sex offender within five working days of release from custody. Rather than including his or her address when registering, the defendant must register as a transient. The defendant must then continue to register as a transient sex offender every thirty days thereafter until he or she finds a residence.

All sexual registrants must update their registration annually within five working days of their birthday, according to Penal Code 290.012. Those sex offenders who are deemed sexually violent predators must update their registration no less than every 90 days, according to Penal Code 290.011.

Registration under PC 290 includes photographing and fingerprinting the defendant, and taking the name, address and telephone number of the defendant and his or her employer, and license plate number of any vehicle registered to the defendant (PC 290(e)(2)). Willful failure to register following a felony conviction is a felony. (PC 290(g)(2)) [See failure o register as a sex offender on this website].

Can juveniles be forced to register as sex offenders?

Some juveniles are required to register as sex offenders upon release from the California Youth Authority. However, those registrants whose cases were heard in juvenile court cannot have their information publicly disclosed.

What happens if a person fails to register

Willful failure to to register as a sex offender after conviction of a qualifying PC 290 crime is a misdemeanor or a felony. (PC 290(g)(2)), depending on whether the underlying PC 290 conviction involved a misdemeanor or a felony (see exception below for multiple failure to register allegations).

Note: Willful failure to register as a sex offender is a new criminal charge, not just a violation of probation. This means that even if a defendant is finished with any parole or probation requirements for the crime in which he or she was made to register as a sex offender he or she may still be in violation of a new crime (the crime of willfull failure to register as a sex offender).

Of course, the defendant may also be in violation of his or her parole or probation if he or she is still on parole or probation and he or she fails to register as a sex offender.

Penalties for failure to register a sex offender under PC 290:

(This topic is discussed in more detail at failure to register as a sex offender. Therefore this section is abbreviated here):

There are various penalties for failing to register as a sex offender under PC 290. If the underlying conviction was a registrable misdemeanor sex offense, and the person fails to register, the first violation will be a misdemeanor; however any additional registration violations after two are considered felonies.

If the underlying conviction is a registrable felony sex offense, and the person willfully fails to register, the registration violation will be considered a felony.

What does the prosecutor have to prove to convict willful failure to register as a sex offender under PC 290?.

To prove the defendant is guilty of failure to register as a sex offender (PC 290.018(b)), the prosecutor must prove:

  1. The defendant was previously convicted of a registrable sex offense (misdemeanor or felony)
  2. The defendant resided in California
  3. The defendant actually knew he/she had a duty under Penal Code 290 to register as a sex offender and that he/she had the duty to register within five working days of release from custody or on probation

A “residence” is defined as one or more addresses where someone usually resides, such as a shelter or structure that can be located by a street address. A residence may include, but is not limited to, houses, apartment buildings, motels, and homeless shelters.

Under PC 290 Does a defendant have to register forever?

Some registered sex offenders whose registrable sex offenses are nondisclosure to the public may not have to register for the rest of their lives.

In addition, by receiving a Certificate of Rehabilitation, which is a certified court document stating that a person is sufficiently rehabilitated, some persons will be relieved of his or her duty to register.

To receive a Certificate of Rehabilitation, a court must determine that the individual has exhibited good behavior and rehabilitation, and also must not have been convicted of one of the crimes listed in PC 290.5(2). Upon receiving this certificate, a person may not be denied a professional or business license solely on the basis of the previous felony conviction.

Other registered sex offenders who are not in the undisclosed category must receive a governor’s pardon in order to be relieved of the duty to register as a sex offender.

Finally, a writ of mandate (a review of the court's decision) may be brought in some cases to havre a court reverse the decision of the sentencing court with respect to the duty to register as a sex offender pursuant to PC 290.

Does an Expungement of a PC 290 conviction allow a defendant to stop registering as a sex offender?

Defendants convicted of certain sex offenses are not eligible for expungement under PC 1203.4(b). For registrable sex offenses for which expungement is available, an expungement does not relieve the the defendant from the duty to register. (PC 290.1)

However, if a defendant is eligible for an expungement of a conviction for a sex crime the defendant may request a certificate of rehabilitation. 

To learn more about sex offender registration requirements under California Penal Code section PC 290, contact California sex crimes criminal defense attorney Christopher Dorado today.

Criminal Defense attorney Christopher Dorado dedicates 100% of his practice to criminal defense. Initial consultations are provided at no cost to the accused and our office is available 24/7 to answer all of your questions. Call today!

909.913.3138

Sex Crimes Defense Attorneys

909.913.3138

Registration as a Sex Offender Law

Free Consultations 24hrs / 7days

Se habla espanol / Abogados de defensa criminal

More Criminal Defense Topics

  • Prop 36
  • Prop 47
  • Prop 57
  • Three Strikes Law
  • Sex Offender Registration
  • Expungements
  • Criminal Conviction & Professional License
  • Restoring Your Rights to Own Firearms
  • Serious Felonies & 1192.7 Crimes
  • Violent Felonies & 667.5 Crimes
  • Work Release & House Arrest
  • Certificates of Rehabilitation
  • DMV Hearings for DUI
  • California Pardons
  • Immigration Consequences for Convictions
  • DUI Class Lists Inland Empire
  • PC 1170h Sentencing
  • Jail & Inmate Information
  • Bail Information
  • Criminal Appeals
  • Defenses to Crime

PC 290 Law

PC 290(a) Sections 290 to 290.024, inclusive, shall be known and may be cited as the Sex Offender Registration Act. All references to “the Act” in those sections are to the Sex Offender Registration Act.

PC 290(b) Every person described in subdivision (c), for the rest of his or her life while residing in California, or while attending school or working in California, as described in Sections 290.002 and 290.01, shall be required to register with the chief of police of the city in which he or she is residing, or the sheriff of the county if he or she is residing in an unincorporated area or city that has no police department, and, additionally, with the chief of police of a campus of the University of California, the California State University, or community college if he or she is residing upon the campus or in any of its facilities, within five working days of coming into, or changing his or her residence within, any city, county, or city and county, or campus in which he or she temporarily resides, and shall be required to register thereafter in accordance with the Act.

PC 290(c) The following persons shall be required to register:

Any person who, since July 1, 1944, has been or is hereafter convicted in any court in this state or in any federal or military court of a violation of Section 187 committed in the perpetration, or an attempt to perpetrate, rape or any act punishable under Section 286, 288, 288a, or 289, Section 207 or 209 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 286, 288, 288a, or 289, Section 220, except assault to commit mayhem, subdivision (b) and (c) of Section 236.1, Section 243.4, paragraph (1), (2), (3), (4), or (6) of subdivision (a) of Section 261, paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 262 involving the use of force or violence for which the person is sentenced to the state prison, Section 264.1, 266, or 266c, subdivision (b) of Section 266h, subdivision (b) of Section 266i, Section 266j, 267, 269, 285, 286, 288, 288a, 288.3, 288.4, 288.5, 288.7, 289, or 311.1, subdivision (b), (c), or (d) of Section 311.2, Section 311.3, 311.4, 311.10, 311.11, or 647.6, former Section 647a, subdivision (c) of Section 653f, subdivision 1 or 2 of Section 314, any offense involving lewd or lascivious conduct under Section 272, or any felony violation of Section 288.2; any statutory predecessor that includes all elements of one of the above-mentioned offenses; or any person who since that date has been or is hereafter convicted of the attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the above-mentioned offenses.

Registrable Offenses (Partial List)

  • PC 286
  • PC 288a
  • PC 288(a)
  • PC 285
  • PC 289
  • PC 261
  • PC 220
  • PC 311
  • PC 314
  • PC 236.1
  • PC 266h
  • PC 266i
  • PC 647.6
  • PC 243.4
  • Sodomy
  • Oral Copulation
  • Child Molestation
  • Incest
  • Sexual Penetration
  • Rape
  • Sexual Assault
  • Child Pornography
  • Indecent Exposure
  • Human Trafficking
  • Pimping
  • Pandering
  • Annoy or Molest a Child
  • Sexual Battery


How to Register as a Sex Offender in California Law & Defense PC 290

Criminal Defense Attorney

 
 
 
 
 
 

Law Office of Christopher Dorado 1030 Nevada Street. Suite 105 Redlands, CA. 92374